EN

Translate:

170 NC-65, Reidsville, North Carolina 27320, United States
|
Sheriff Sam S. Page

APPLYING FOR A PERMIT TO PURCHASE A FIREARM

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY:

The Rockingham County Sheriff’s Office issues Permits to purchase handguns. You must be a resident of Rockingham County for at least 6 months, 21 years of age, valid North Carolina identification with current and correct information listed on ID and complete a purchase handgun request application.   Firearm Purchase Permits can be applied for in person at the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office in Records Division, or applications can now be submitted online directly to the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office by clicking "APPLY FOR FIREARM PURCHASE PERMIT ONLINE" to the left. Then, follow the directions and submit your permit application to us online.


IN-PERSON APPLICANTS:To fill out a Firearms Purchase Permit Application in person, come to the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office Records Division on:Wednesdays and Thursdays from 9 am until 3:30 pm (except on holidays) effective March 1, 2016.In person applications will only be accepted during these days and times. Please allow up to 14 business days upon receipt of the Release of Court Orders Concerning Mental Health and Capacity for Pistol Purchase Permit by the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office to process applications. Approved permits will be available for pick-up after notification by the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office. Permits can be picked up Monday - Friday from 8 am to 5 pm(except on holidays).


ONLINE APPLICANTS: Due to a legislative change that went into effect December 1, 2015, Pistol Purchase Permits Applications MUST be made available online by the local Sheriff's Office. As part of this law, when applying online for a Purchase Permit, a  Release of Court Orders Concerning Mental Health and Capacity for Pistol Purchase Permit is required to be notarized and submitted in person, in the Sheriff's Office Monday-Friday 8 am-5 pm, OR by mailing the notarized form to: Rockingham County Sheriff's Office Attn: Pistol Purchase Permits P.O. Box 128 Wentworth, N.C. 27375 within 5 business days. This form is available for printout on the left side of this page. This application process is NOT complete without this form and it MUST be notarized and received by the Sheriff's Office for the processing of the application to proceed.  If you have any questions, feel free to contact Lt. M. Barker or Deputy H. Crowder at 336-634-3234. For your convenience, those dropping off their Release of Court Orders Concerning Mental Health and Capacity for Pistol Purchase Permit in person may also bring a self-addressed, stamped envelope for your permit to be mailed to you upon its completion. If you do not wish to have it mailed, you will be notified via phone, text or email (your choice) when your permit is ready to be picked up.


There is a $5.00 per permit fee (Cash Only if applying in person) due at the time of application, whether online or in person. Online applications are paid for when submitted using debit or credit card and are charged an additional online processing fee of $3.00 by "Permitium", the website which hosts the online application processing. These fees are non-refundable. No state permit is required to purchase a rifle or shotgun. It is lawful for citizens of the State to purchase rifles and shotguns and ammunition in states contiguous to this State.


A license or permit must be obtained to purchase, sell, give away, transfer, inherit, or receive a handgun by applying to the county sheriff in which the purchase is to be made or where the receiver resides. A purchase permit is good for five years from the date of issue. Antique firearms are exempted. The sheriff shall issue such license or permit to a resident of that county, unless the purpose of the license or permit is for collecting, in which case a license or permit may be issued to a nonresident.When the sheriff shall have fully satisfied himself as to the good moral character of the applicant, the applicant has successfully completed a criminal history check, and that the applicant desires the possession of the handgun for the protection of the home, business, person, family or property, target shooting, collecting, or hunting, such permit or license shall be issued. 


For good cause shown, a license or permit may be denied, and within seven (7) days of such refusal a written statement of the reason shall be issued to the applicant. Each applicant for any such license or permit shall be informed within fourteen (14) days of the date of such application whether such license or permit shall be granted or denied, and, if granted, such license or permit shall be immediately issued to said applicant.An appeal from such refusal may be made to the Chief Judge of the District Court for the district in which the application was filed.A permit is valid for the purchase of only one handgun. 


To obtain another handgun, an applicant must procure another permit and must convince the issuing authority that he needs more than one handgun. 

APPLY ONLINE FOR A PERMIT TO PURCHASE A FIREARM HERE

WAIT, YOU'RE NOT FINISHED YET...

MENTAL HEALTH AND CAPACITY RELEASE REQUIRED TO OBTAIN PERMIT TO PURCHASE A FIREARM


Click below, print, complete and have notarized, then bring or mail to the Sheriff's Office within five (5) business days.   Your online application is NOT complete until the Sheriff's Office receives this notarized form.


REQUIRED FORM BELOW: 

APPLYING FOR A PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY:

NEW HOURS EFFECTIVE MARCH 1, 2016 - Concealed Handgun Permit Applications are accepted Tuesdays, Wednesday and Thursdays from 9 am until 3:30 pm (except on holidays).


[You can print out a copy of the application for a Concealed Carry Permit listed below by clicking"PRINT APPLICATION PACKET" to the left. After printing the application, fill it out COMPLETELY and bring it to the Sheriff's Office on one of the days/times listed. DO NOT SIGN THE APPLICATION PRIOR TO BRINGING IT TO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE; Your signature must be witnessed by one the Deputies who will be processing the application.] The Rockingham County Sheriff’s Office handles Concealed Carry Permits for Handguns. You must be a resident of Rockingham County for at least 30 days, 21 years of age, valid North Carolina identification with current and correct information listed on ID and complete a concealed handgun request application. Download and Print the application buy clicking on "PRINT APPLICATION PACKET" to the left, complete the application and bring it to the Rockingham County Sheriff's Office Records Division.  Processing the background checks for the permits can take up to 45 days FROM AFTER ALL OF THE APPLICANT'S MEDICAL RECORDS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED by the Sheriff's Office. These application are not currently accepted electronically. If you do not have the ablity to print out this application via computer, a paper copy of the Concealed Carry Application Packet can be obtained at the Sheriff's Office in the Records Division at the Law Enforcement Center. Must have completed a firearms safety training course and provide certificate. The cost of concealed handgun permit is $90.00 for new applicants, $75.00 for a renewal (Cash Only). Permits processing times varies. 

DOWNLOAD AND PRINT YOUR CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT APPLICATION

DOWNLOAD and PRINT the application packet below, fill it out and bring it to the Sheriff's Office's Records Division. 

(Currently we do not have the option to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit online)


**DO NOT SIGN THE APPLICATION UNTIL YOU BRING IT TO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE.